Temi, Never Assume You Know. Kam dan!

Temi, Never Assume You Know. Kam dan!

Who should be my Teacher?

Bring your own laptop.

No. I’m not talking to you. Lol. That’s the name of the Youtube page that introduced me to coding. Very funny and creative name, right? So is the owner, my first Web Design teacher, Dan Scott. A very amusing and practical teacher. He wasn’t my first, but he was officially my first. I’ll explain.

I said officially because, maybe like you, I jumped from one Youtube page to another trying to find that one person that I can vibe with (well, that’s my excuse). Until I met Dan.

There you have my first challenge. So many teachers on Youtube. Hard to pick and stick with one.

You’re too good?

Dan, my first teacher walked me, step by step, through building a website from the scratch. He calmly and playfully showed me how the magic of basic technology is put together. And eureka! Together we built a nice website for a restaurant. I like Dan! Lol.

image.png

Upon building this website, guess what? Your girl’s shoulder pad grew taller. I was like, me? This small thing. A bloody Art student who just got to know about coding not up to a week. And she already built a website? So it’s even this easy? You can’t tell me nothing, I’m here to conquer! You should’ve seen me. Lol.

Too bad. You didn’t see me. Maybe if you had, you would’ve told me to kam dan and take a chill pill.

I was unknowingly bluffing on Dan’s expertise. Forgetting that Dan learnt and has been doing this for so long.

You can already smell the second challenge, right? Over-blown confidence. Taking celebrate your little wins a little too far.

I wasn’t prepared for the shock to come. Wait for it.

Must you finish it?

With that enormous joy and my air-filled confidence. I ran over to another page, I met another teacher. This time we built a blog page. I followed his instructions but putting in my own designs and pictures. And the outcome was beautiful. Awesome! Better than the first.

I was happy. So happy I couldn’t wait to finish it. And that’s it. I was so overjoyed I didn’t finish it. I abandoned it the same way I did that of Dan scott. Not finishing it to the last.

You already guessed it. Impatience. Low attention span. Inability to kam dan!

I went to a third page, but I won't bore you with that.

You’re actually not good.

image.png

Believing that I am now good. Like, almost a pro kinda level. I mean, “I built” three websites already. What are you talking about? So I felt, I’m done with HTML and CSS already. Too simple, abeg. And it’s time to take it to the next level. The JAVASCRIPT kinda level.

This was just in a space of a month.

In summary. Attempting Javascript jolt me back to reality.

Finding it impenetrable. I ran back to test run my knowledge of HTML and CSS by attempting to build a very simple website. A very simple one o!

Dear brother. And my dearest sister reading. Don’t be surprise when I say, I couldn’t. I. Could. Not. I felt blank, like my brain has been robbed overnight. Hmmm. Feel free to say shame on you. Because that’s exactly what it is, shame.

I was transported, in a 10G kind of speed, back to reality.

My bubble was bursted!😔😥

You have to finish it.

So I called myself, me and I to a group meeting. And said. Sister(s). I think you should know that when they said the magic of technology, they do not mean that you magically stare into your system and magically know it. Just like that. And then you’ll start raking in the monies.

To build your foundation strongly in this field, babe, you have to be calm. Patient. Dogged. Never assume you know. Don’t jump the steps. And most importantly, you cannot skip theory to practical. The theory helps you to study its principles which then aid a better and well-cemented understanding.

And write. Take it as if you’re in school. In class taking a real lecture. Revise it and read related books.

And I listened to myself. Ourselves, sorry.😅

I have kamed dan!

image.png

I took a long needed break towards the end of last year. To cool off and restrategise.

My dearest friends of Hashnode. I am very proud to tell you that with the help of my new friend and mentor, Paul Ehikhuemen. I have now gone back to Freecodecamp. A place I’ve been avoiding because I felt it was too theoretical.

And guess what? I am enjoying it. Another guess? I started from the very beginning. The basics of HTML. Take another guess? I think I will have to do it a second time. Maybe a third and a fourth. Or more. Until I’m sure that indeed I understand the basics of Web Design. Trying projects by the side, of course.

Long story short my friend.

I. Am. Now. Humble.🤩

Thanks for stopping by.💚

Temz.🌹